Home

Start Here

Deals

Frugal Living

Coupons

Freebies

Reviews

Jobs

DIY

Donate

Nola Events

Contact

Beware of SiteGround Web Hosting
Create an Account

Siteground Sucks
I first joined Siteground about 2 years ago after looking to upgrade to a new web hosting company from Hostmonster. At first, their customer service was friendly, amazing, and responded quickly. Over time, once they had me lured in, I learned the truth about them. First of all, they are "upgrade happy" - meaning, rather than trying to make suggestions and help you with an issue first, they immediately want to recommend you upgrade. I did twice with them in less than a year! Of course, they prey on those not as familiar with such a thing to "sucker" into their upgrades that they may or may not need.

Flash forward to September of 2015 I hired a web developer/programmer to go in and clean up the code of my web site. Well, that's then I discovered just how bad things were from Siteground "helping". I should have known that when you get different answers from different techs it wouldn't be good, but again, I didn't know better and just went with the flow. Since I was pleased with my developers service I went forward with a full site re-design and upgrade which meant also moving to a better and more reliable webhost. My design was a complex one that took months and during the process there were issues with my server on Siteground where the developers would try and work with them to fix the issue. Siteground seriously lacked in response. They will respond within the first 15 minutes, but the next response could be hours or even days later. It's during this time that I discovered Siteground had LIED to me to get me to sign up. I knew the questions to ask when I joined, including about refunds and things of that nature. I was promised the same 30-day refund if I was not happy. Unfortunately, they did NOT mention that my account would not qualify because I joined with the Cloud account - which is not covered in this deal. Also, they never mentioned that they CHARGE YOU $25 if you were to cancel in that 30-day period.

I've experienced a LOT of down time from Siteground during my time with them and each time they claimed it wasn't their fault, yet I have SCREEN SHOTS showing when THEIR site showed THEY are having issues with the SERVER. Somehow that would always get twisted into something that was my fault though according to their techs.I've also experienced being lied to further when tickets were supposedly forwarded to a supervisor, but it literally took HOURS to do so. It shows when a ticket is in progress or has been forwarded. Basically, Siteground just delays and never fixes things like they claim.

Fast forward to more recently. Once I moved over to my new web hosting company, my web developer requested a backup of my database from Siteground. Siteground seems to think they did us a favor by providing this for free, but it literally took them DAYS to get this completed and probably would have been longer if not for me opening a new ticket to check in on them. Here's the real problem though, they provided INCOMPLETE backups as well as CORRUPTED ones. Siteground denies this, but my web developer PROVED to them where he even saw in the coding that the backup was incomplete. Siteground is STILL denying this and basically called my developer a liar. They are also claiming that THEY cleaned up my database coding multiple times. Unfortunately that is NOT true. Siteground did NOTHING of the sort. My programmer, which I paid to do, had to clean up all the coding and basically said it was a nightmare in so many words because of how bad off it was. So if Siteground did "clean up the coding" they must have had someone in there who knew NOTHING. The fact that Siteground has the nerve to LIE really bothers me. If they provided me corrupted backups, then I'm really concerned about times in the past I had them restore my site - did they honestly only make it worse because they're incompetent to even send a completed backup? Before anybody asks why I did not do a backup on my own, Siteground has the backup button DISABLED. That's right. It's turned OFF so you cannot do your own backup and have to PAY them $50 to do it! This is something they do not tell you up front either. You have to dig around to figure it out. Every little thing requires money. Siteground is over priced and has techs with no skills or knowledge.

The point of my rant though is I want to be refunded for all my down time, since I was promised to be online 99.9% of the time and I wasn't. I want to be compensated for all their lies. I want to be compensated for the money that I had to pay extra to my web developer due to Siteground's lack of responding. I mean, my developer did try to talk by phone to them, but they would only allow him to submit a ticket and not deal with him any other way. Same goes with me. Everything had to be done by ticket. Yet for signing up they would talk on the phone for as long as you needed. This hosting company is junk. They are disrespectful. They are dishonest. They are the perfect example of a scammer who wants to cheat people out of hard earned money.
For anyone considering leaving one hosting company to go to Siteground, you will regret it. Siteground will make your last hosting company look perfect. STAY AWAY!  
Here's an excerpt from my Instagram frustration with Siteground on October 23, 2015:

If anyone is trying to access my site it is down and has been for over 10 hours now. #siteground is the WORST #webhosting company ever! The customer service is slim to none, just pure aweful! They fooled with things "trying to fix" the problem but only screwed my site up more. If you're looking for a good company, don't go here! They lie to get you to join but have a bunch of hidden fees that they lie about on top of horrible performing servers

Don't just take my word for it though. Here are all the complaints I could find and compiled them into their own Pinterest board HERE.

**UPDATE**

Since Writing this I have discovered that Siteground uses their own bots to flood your web site with traffic, causing web site users to use more bandwidth and resources. This is basically a tactic to try and force users into unnecessary upgrades.

Also, I noticed in my CPanel, that I haven't logged in since moving to my new host, Squidix, that apparently Siteground employees have been "modifying" files without cause. They are also denying any wrong doing in my case, despite the evidence I do have on them; including screen shots of EVERYTHING. Anyone even considering going with Siteground, I urge you to avoid them. If your website gets NO traffic, you will be fine, but then again if you get no traffic you can go back to using blogger and save yourself the time and money to begin with. I warned you...

XOX Signature
  • report post
Name(*)
Invalid Input
Email(*)
Invalid Input
Please tell us why do you think this post or page is inappropriate (*)
Invalid Input
1800AnyLens Contacts DEAL of the WEEK! Check out all of this week's great deals on Flowers and Gifts at 1800flowers.com! Order Now (offer available only while supplies last) Save 15% on Birthday Flowers and Gifts at 1800flowers.com. Use Promo Code HPPYBDAY at checkout. 3 Day Blinds 3 Day Blinds Banner Orange 728x90 500px ABCmouse.com ABCmouse.com Spring savings! Sitewide 25% off! Save extra 10% off with code USAFF10. Free US shipping. Ends 3/31/2016. Accessorize US Accessorize US Free Shipping on all orders at Alex G. Eyewear! Shop on-trend designer eyewear now! Alibris: Books, Music, & Movies American Meadows - The Best Place for a huge selection of wildflower seeds, flower bulbs, perennials, seed packets, ornamental grasses, ferns, and berries at great prices! Click Here! ANSIAerospace Standards Anytime Costumes Anytime Costumes Appliances Connection Up to 65% Off AquaMobile Ashley Furniture $9.99 flat rate shipping Ashley Furniture Up to 50% Off - Decor Shop Austin Reed - Shop Now! Auto Parts Warehouse B2C Jewels B2C Jewels B2C Jewels Baukjen Beauty Brands Beauty Brands. $3.50 off of $10 Product Purchase Beauty Brands.  Free Samples With Purchase. Beauty Bridge 3 Month Basketball Cards Online Price web subscription for just $25 Save $148.76 on 12 Month Total Access (All Sports) Online Price Guide (Web + iOS) Subscription For $520.72 Subscribe 1 Month Total Access (All Sports) Online Price Guide (iOS) For $30.99 Save $5 on Hockey Cards Online Price Guide 3 Month Web Subscription For $25 Football Cards Online Price Guide 15 Days Web Subscription For $8 Subscribe Basketball Cards Online Price Guide 15 Days Web Subscription For $8 1 Month Total Access Sports Card Online Card Price Guide for $31.00 Save $2.98 on 3 Month Total Access (All Sports) Online Price Guide (iOS) Subscription For $89.99 Total Access Sports Cards Online Price Guide 1 month Subscription for $31 Subscribe Now & Save $27.9 on 6 month Total Access Sports Cards Online Price Guide for $87 Beddinginn.com Beddinginn.com 3D bedding sets on sale Beddinginn.com Best Buy Co, Inc. Best Buy Co, Inc. Best Buy Co, Inc. Best Buy Co, Inc. Best Buy Co, Inc. Best Buy Co, Inc. Lowest Prices on the Top Brands at Bestusedtires.com Your Source for Used Tires at Discount Prices at Bestusedtires.com Billion Dollar Brows Birthday in a Box Birthday in a Box Blinds.com Bloomingdale's Bloomingdale's Bloomingdale's Bogs Footwear (Weyco) Booking.com Booking.com Booking.com Booking.com Booking.com Up to 55% Off Books and eBooks in Bulk Up to 55% Off Books and eBooks in Bulk Check our our weekly featured last minute deals from BookVIP.com Attention Beach Lovers!  Now get 5 nights in Cabo San Lucas Mexico with unlimited Meals and Drinks including alcohol for only $299 per couple and kids stay FREE!   Click here! Buca Di Beppo Advantage is a fast action flea treatment for dogs. Easy to apply, this topical solution kills almost 100% fleas within 12 hours. Order Advantage from budgetpetcare.com to get big discounts! Advantage is a fast action flea treatment for dogs. Easy to apply, this topical solution kills almost 100% fleas within 12 hours. Order Advantage from budgetpetcare.com to get big discounts! Capstar is the fastest flea killer that eliminates almost 100% adult fleas in a short span of 5-7 hours. Get this efficient oral tablet at cheapest price from budgetpetcare.com. K9 Advantix is an ultimate solution to keep your dog safe from fleas, ticks and mosquitoes. This spot-on solution also repels parasites found in the surrounding. Order a pack from budgetpetcare.com and save big! Frontline Plus has been most trusted parasite control for years. It destroys fleas and ticks quickly and prevents its reinfestation. Buy Frontline Plus at affordable price from budgetpetcare.com. Buy.com DogBreedStore.com Calendars.com Do you feel like a happy Easter bunny? Why not enjoy our special Easter promotion? Use code 'Easter15' to get 15% off sitewide discount with free delivery from 200€. Happy Easter! Cascio Interstate Music Cascio Interstate Music Cascio Interstate Music Find the perfect gift at Casual Male XL! Shop For Clothing Now To Help Rescue Animals! Charles Tyrwhitt - Shirts 4 for $199 Flat $15* off on Flights with our Spring Flight Deals!  Book Now! Get $15* off with our Military Travel Deals. Book Now! Get $50 off on all Group Travel. Book Now! Enjoy Spring and Save 15% Off Spring Cookie Gifts Collection at Cheryls.com! Use TAKE15 (Offer ends 04/11/16 or while supplies last) Celebrate Birthday with delicious cookies and Save 15% Off sitewide at Cheryls.com! Use Promo Code TAKE15 (Offer ends 03/27/2016 or while supplies last) Send a Cheryl's Cookie Greetings! Sweeter than a card. Perfect for any occasion! Only $5.99 Delivered from Cheryls.com Enjoy Free Shipping and No Service Charge for One Full Year when you sign up for the Celebrations Passport membership for only $29.99 from Cheryls.com! ChicNova -Alien print $8.9up ChicNova ChicNova ChicNova ChicNova ChicNova ChicNova ChicNova ChicNova ChicNova ChicNova ChicNova Club W- $20 OFF Club W Club W Stay in-the-know about the latest Sports, Life, Money, Tech, and Travel stories. You'll get your first 2 months of USA TODAY for $25 (charged monthly). All print subscribers receive the e-Newspaper included with their subscription. Take 10% Off First Purchase w/Code: CORN10 - 728 x 90 [Clearance Sale] Save Up to 80% OFF in April! SHOP NOW! Shiseido Sale at CosmeticAmerica.com, low prices 24/7 Costume and Party SuperCenter Costume and Party SuperCenter Costume Discounters Costume Discounters Cotton On (US) Crocs, Inc. Crocs, Inc. Crocs, Inc. CUPSHE CUPSHE CustomTshirts.com CWD CWD Levana - General - 728 x 90 - 004 CWI Medical D'Blanc Das Keyboard 4C $99 Promo Division Zero Mousepad Promo! Divison Zero X40 by Das Keyboard 40% Off DAWGS Microfiber Boots Dawgs Day-Timer Dean and DeLuca Dean and DeLuca Dean and Deluca DERMAdoctor Shop our officially licensed Star Wars store! Shop Deadpool tees in our officially licensed Marvel store! Banner - DBH Collector's Box (Subscription Box) w/ Pricing - 728 x 90 Now introducing stickers at Design By Humans. Choose from 35K designs starting at $3. Logo - 728 x 90 Save 15% on all orders at DiaperDude.com with promo code DDLS15! (Valid until 09/30/2015) Cool Diaper Bags for Dads - Shop Now at DiaperDude.com DKNY logo DL 1961 Premium Denim Dorco USA Dorothy Perkins(US) Dorothy Perkins Women's Clothing from UK Science Fiction Audiobook Downloads at Downpour.com. Bestselling titles, everyday low prices, no membership required. Mystery Audiobook Downloads at Downpour.com. Bestselling titles, everyday low prices, no membership required. Audio Books On Sale Now! Shop at Downpour.com and save big audiobook downloads and CDs every day. Drapers and Damon's Drapers and Damon's dreamstime.com drugstore.com e.l.f. cosmetics e.l.f. cosmetics e.l.f. cosmetics eFaucets-Brand-728x90 Electro Antiperspirant - MIN $100 PER ORDER Mountain House Sale Emergency Essentials/BePrepared Emergency Essentials/BePrepared Emergency Essentials/BePrepared Emergency Essentials/BePrepared Emergency Essentials/BePrepared Empire Today's 1/2 Off Sale ePelican.com, Inc. ePelican.com, Inc. ePelican.com, Inc. eSportsonline Evans (US) Essential Watches

You may also like:

leave_comment

Upcoming Events

special offers
1-800-PetMeds Free Shipping $49 DEAL of the WEEK! Check out all of this week's great deals on Flowers and Gifts at 1800flowers.com! Order Now (offer available only while supplies last) B2C Jewels Big Al's Aquarium Services, Ltd. Bloomingdale's Advantage is a monthly topical treatment for killing and controlling fleas. Buy Now to Get Extra 5% Discount and Free Shipping across USA. Also Avail 4 Free Doses of Advantage with 12 Pack & 2 Free Doses with 6 Doses Pack. Shop our Clearance store – Get ‘em before they’re gone! Canary Connect, Inc. Hire Freelance Writers Now from Contentmart.com Crocs, Inc. Cufflinks.com Cupshe Cupshe DERMAdoctor.com, Inc. Shop kids tees at DesignByHumans.com! Shop the foodie collection at DesignByHumans.com. Shop the officially licensed Star Wars store! Shop For Fridge Filters Today! Dr. Fuhrman Drizly: Beer, Wine, & Liquor Delivered. Dylan's Candy Bar Dylan's Candy Bar Dyson Inc. e.l.f. cosmetics e.l.f. cosmetics Eaglemoss eClincher Inc. eFaucets-Brand-300x250 eGlobal Central US Online Electronics Store - Discounted Prices on All Canon DSLRs! With Free Shipping eGlobal Central US Online Electronics Store - Discounted Deals on All Smartwatches! Buy Now! eGlobal Central US Online Electronics Store - SIM FREE Mobiles with Free Shipping! Save Now! Emergency Essentials/BePrepared Emergency Essentials/BePrepared
scissors
scissors
Fare Buzz Get Ready for July 4th. Use Code: GET15 At Checkout and Get 15% OFF on Select Brands Sasa.com For Better or Worse. Worst Case Scenario, Make Sure You're Protected! Get 15% Sitewide at iSmartAlarm!* Code SMARTWEDDING. *Exclusions Apply. Offer Ends 6/30/17. Shop Now! Order Today!15% Off Available On Independence Day (7.1--7.6)! Plus Size Sale Captain Underpants: See The Movie, And Then Read The Books! Get up to 30% Off at The Scholastic Store Online. Valid 6/1/17 - 8/31/17. Shop Now! 1st Anniversary Sale Semi-Annual Offer Winter Clearance Hoodies&Sweathirts Sale Independence Day Sale Online Huge Summer Clearance Reversible Bikini! Starts at $9.99! Shop Now! Save 10% OFF on Drcolbert's 21 Day Detox Package 300x250 Freeshippping Sitewide without Any Limitation Father's Day Sale New Weekly Deals at Sports Experts: Get up to 50% Off Select Reg. Price Brands & Styles! Everything Your Need for Summer. Offer Ends 6/20/17. Shop Now! SITE-WIDE SUMMER SALE during June on DeepDiscount.com! FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $25. Savings apply to your order before taxes, handling & shipping costs. Some Exclusions Apply. Stay Cool this Summer with our Iced Teas Chill Out with our Great Selection on Ice Teas American Flags Theme Sales 300x250 NC Free PB 2017 Save $300 on 300 books or more when you shop at BookBaby.com to make your custom printed books. Limited time offer. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Save $200 on 200 books or more when you shop at BookBaby.com to make your custom printed books. Limited time offer. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Happy Father's Day 300x250 Shop New Styles from the Charity By Design Collection at ALEX AND ANI Fare Buzz 3D Virtual Reality Glasses - UP to 60% off 3D Printing Service - Print Your Idea @Tmart.com Tmart Deals - Big Discount, Saving More Tmart Deals & Free Shipping Wedding Supplies from $0.76 Figleaves US Figleaves US FilthyFragrance.com Fiverr.com Fiverr.com Fiverr.com Fiverr.com Guitars from $6/week. Shop now. No Cash? Bad Credit? No Problem!  Shop FlexShopper now! Florsheim FlowerShopping.com Fons And Porter Free Shipping on orders over $50 at FOREO.com. FOREO - New! LUNA mini 2 Shop now at FOREO.com for LUNA mini. Shop now at FOREO.com for LUNA mini. Shop now at FOREO.com for LUNA mini. Shop now at FOREO.com for LUNA mini. FragranceNet.com FragranceNet.com Shop the latest in Men's styles Under $50 + get FREE Shipping on orders over $100 at Frank & Oak! Platinum Preferred Customer Sale - 35% Off Or More Plus An Extra 10% (4/1-4/4) Shop Our 2016 Spring Bridal Catalog For All The Latest Trends Save Up To 70% On Fine Jewelry In Our Clearance Collection Save 25% On Top Watch Brands For Men And Women Design Your Own Personalized Jewelry PAWSitively Yours Jewelry Collection
budsie


scent trunk Homegrown Collective Smart Art Box remedy rush Shop Ann Williams - Creative Craft Kits Shop Ann Williams - Creative Craft Kits Shop Ann Williams - Creative Craft Kits Discover, Create, Learn & Explore with Bramble Box Purr-Packs are toys, treats and treasures delivered to your door every month! globein $20 Off Club W Prepper Gear Box Sign up Little Lace Box jacked pack jacked pack Your Bijoux Box A monthly box of fun toys, healthy treats, and other goodies for your cat! Energy Supply Co - Get a FREE Month! Energy Supply Co - Get a FREE Month! Supply Pod - Bruce v Clark Goovy Lab in a box faithbox Faithbox - Embrace Your Faith Today! surprise ride surprise ride lip monthly lip monthly Join Kiwibop Postcard Pals today for only $3.99 per month tom boxes cocotique True Drool Box [Best dog subscription Box] Trial Offer from Bestowed Trial Offer from Bestowed Join Mystery Guild Today and Get Your First Book for $1 Book of the Month March 2016 Selections Book of the Month Selections hatchery hatchery bulu box bulu box Cooper & Kid Cooper Kit Subscription Box for Dads And Kids Save 40% Off Your First Love With Food Box Save 40% Off Your First Love With Food Box RawSpiceBar Monthly Subscription Spice Box Get top beauty brands delivered to your door every month with Beauty Box 5. Click Here! Get top beauty brands delivered to your door every month with Beauty Box 5. Click Here! Get top beauty brands delivered to your door every month with Beauty Box 5. Click Here! green kid crafts green kid crafts surprise my pet linen crate Give a Gift Your dog will Love! #PawItForward with the BOGO Box! Kali Tampons Sock fancy Sock fancy Sock fancy Better Hair Color Madison Reed junior explorers space scouts space scouts space scouts sock panda sock panda New and popular snacks from around the world Try something new! Travel the world. Without leaving home. Unzipped citizen Unzipped citizen little loving hands Panda Pals Every other month we will ship you (6) of our Classic Series wines (4) reds and (2) whites each chosen for the varietal and regional character. These wines are chosen from hundreds tasted each month delivered with a 20 page newsletter Every other month we will ship you (6) of our Classic Series wines (4) reds and (2) whites each chosen for the varietal and regional character. These wines are chosen from hundreds tasted each month delivered with a 20 page newsletter Click here to starting bluuming today! Click here to starting bluuming today! Click here to starting bluuming today! Healthy Snacks Delivered Monthly Monthly subscription box of delicious goods for military, expats, and peace corps bean box battl box battl box other butter diy happy kits diy happy kits Record Automatically, Watch Without Ads - Try the All New, Free PlayOn Save 30% off your first month! Save 30% off your first month! Join Julep and Get a Free 3-Piece Polish Gift Free Eyeshadow Palette when you join Julep Beauty Julep Beauty Box Subscription love goodly love goodly This is L Sapphire Soul Sapphire Soul Le Tote le tote LessonPlanet General Banners Coffee.club 300x250 StrengthCrate Banner 300x250 strengthcrate banner
budsie


Win Cash  Win Free Cash  
Win $50 Cash

No set expiration
Serac Hammock Giveaway
Serac Hammock Giveaway

Ends July 1st 2017
GIVEAWAY 8Spinns Fidget Spinner Toys Review
GIVEAWAY: 8Spinns Fidget Spinner Toys

Ends July 6th 2017

MONEY SAVING DEALS

TIPS

Free Stuff

SPONSORED POSTS

COUPONS

Never miss an update. Subscribe today!
Connect with us!
image
image

Our Disclosure Policy

This website was created and owned by Ashley & is based in the USA. While sometimes we do have posts that are internationally and worldwide, this is not often. Our target audience is in the USA so please keep this in mind when using this site. Please note that Closet of Free Samples does accept forms of cash advertising, sponsorship, paid insertions and/or other forms of compensation. Read More →

Squidix Ultra Fast Web Hosting